It is a good thing for people in senior management positions to get a higher salary than other workers in the same company. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Wide discrepancies in the salary between employees in senior management positions and ordinary workers have been becoming an ever-increasingly prevalent phenomenon. Some people advocate this kind of distribution system, and I agree with them since it is beneficial to the profits of companies.

That salaries and job status are in positive correlation can promote the financial benefits of companies by motivating employees to work desperately. In fact, this distribution system requires that leaders will get much more income than others. To get a higher income, employees have to requisite knowledge, skills, and abilities and be enthusiastic about their assignments so that they could be promoted. This increases the likelihood of better performance of the employees, leading to a higher financial profit of the company. A class example of this phenomenon is that there is always an elaborate career ladder, where leaders get higher salaries, in a competitive company.

Another positive effect this distribution system brings is to enhance the stability of leadership. A stable leadership is critically important for a company because leaders not only have proved their abilities but also known much valuable information about his company, some of which might even be the trade secret. However, if salaries for senior management positions are not attractive enough, leadership will be less likely to develop a sense of identity of his company and be more likely to be poached by rival firms. It is particularly common that many successful companies award employees in senior management positions shares of stock to guarantee the stability of leadership.

On balance, a relatively higher salary for leadership is reasonable because it provides more motivations for employees as well as more sense of identity for leadership.