It is important for all towns and cities to have large outdoor public space such as squares and sparks. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There has been some discussion about the existence and need of parks and squares in urban areas. While some people believe that these open premises are essential, others insist that these places make the land useless and hence they must be converted to practical purposes. In my opinion, despite the voices against the larger public places, parks and squares provide great value to both the towns and its civilians.

First of all, the public areas have always been considered as the heart of cities, where people get together for meetings and leisure activities. Besides that, children and their parents spend quality time at these places after their hectic schedules. Moreover, such places attract tourists as thaey usually have a history behind their creation. For instance, all European towns are famous for their beautiful gardens and city center squares. Thus, it is absolutely imperative to conserve them for the future generations.

On the other hand, one can not deny the fact that cities are getting crowded each day and lacking places to build public and commercial centers. New transportation systems coming to the cities and they need a large space to construct stations and wider lanes. For example, New York was planned nearly two hundred years ago and the roads in the city were small and narrow which were built for carts not for cars and buses. Later, New York city authorities converted many historical parks and gardens into parking stations and highways. Therefore, destroying park and other public place is the useful solution for space constraints in the cities.

In conclusion, big public grounds are the need of our future generations. Cities are facing a lot of pressure to develop a substantial infrastructure for the growing population, but this can not be allowed at the cost of parks and squares. It is completely indispensable to have huge social place in the urban areas.