It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

A controversy has been raised surrounded the issue whether punishment should be applied as an essential mean in educating children. I take the view against such an idea.

When it comes to right and wrong, it relates to manner, behavior and moral. I strongly believe that punishment is an immoral way of guiding young child. It is said that many parents have employed harsh punishments, including psychologically aggressive and physically violent to coach their children of what is right and what is not. These are not only considered as violence against children, but also improper ways of teaching the young how to behave. By means, using such severe punishments is not suitable in the case.

In reality, some sanctions affect children psychologically, causing the adverse effects. The young was influenced by the penalties, and started to bully their peer. As a result, punishments are not a successful solution for youngsters to distinct the right and wrong since it brings up more violence. These measures have a tremendous impact on the young, and can hardly be alleviated.

However, I deem that minor sanctions such as detention or grounded can be applied in certain situations where a youngster disobeys or rebels. While being grounded or getting a detention, parents and teachers can administer the rules and boost children to learn or do homework without playing video games. Cutting down money or phone is another non-extreme measure that could be applied. By virtue of such, a child can rectify the mistakes and avoiding replicating bad actions.

In sum, although punishments are inappropriate, but to some certain extent, parents and teachers can consider using some approximate minor punishments.