It is important to children to learn the difference between right and wrong at the early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There is no doubt that moral perceptions have a considerable bearing on every society and that it is of vital importance to children at early education. However, whether or not strict disciplines should be cited in the learning process is still a topic that arouses a great deal of controversy. While some say applying punishments is the optimal method to help children learn how to behave, others argue that it can produce counterproductive results.

The avocation for administering punishments on wrong behaviors of children is largely understandable. The key rationale is that strict rules could be the quickest approach to discourage kids to behave improperly. However, such actions may have an adverse effect on a child’s perception, as children could not understand the nature of morality that they should be taught, they are likely to make the same mistake again. For example, Vietnamese parents tend to use force on their children, which sometimes could be violent, and this sort of punishments can cause serious mental damages in an individual’s childhood.

Instead of the aforementioned method, I am of the opinion that encouragement is the foremost solution to help children distinct right and wrong behaviors. Regardless home or school environment, well-behaved kids should receive praises and incentives in tandem with the explanation for why these actions are considered acceptable in each circumstances, while others are not. Once the children have a grasp of the ideas to act correctly, they could feel a sense of self-pride and be encouraged to develop appropriate behaviors.

In encapsulation, while there may be some justifications for giving some sorts of punishments on the teaching process, I believe that timely encouragement is an infinitely better way to improve the morality in the way children act.