Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believe that there has been an enormous number of options, which are way too many, created by human to serve a wide range of human’s needs as of late. While this might be true to some extent, I would argue that it is exponentially beneficial for people to have these varieties in life.

Some people advocate limiting choices, especially in some specific fields such as producing TV programs, and justifiably so. The key rationale is that people, regardless of ages, are wasting their time surfing through hundreds of TV channels all day long. Due to the unlimited screen time and an eclectic mix of channels, many people find it hard to get away from the telly just for a short amount of time. These many readily available TV programs have undoubtedly adverse effects people’s state of health as recreational screen time is gradually displacing outdoor activities. Therefore, it seems sensible that people should not be overwhelmed by choices.

However, I firmly believe that choices are made for developing people’s abilities and they should always have the right to choose. First, as for education, it is fundamental that students have many universities in their option. As each university offers different high-ranking majors, atmosphere and accommodation standards, and learning facilities, these students hold their own future possibilities by evaluating and selecting where to improve their strong suits. Second, it is unfair that people are forbidden from certain job opportunities even if they are certified. Particularly, people do not have to become an educator just to carry on their family tradition, regardless their personal interests. Having a job position that fits their abilities best is the optimal approach to deepen their engagement and encourage them to return the community.

In conclusion, while there might be reasons to support the idea of having just enough number of choices in life, I am of the opinion that people are entitled to choose among many to make righteous decisions for themselves.