It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

It is considered vital for parents to ensure that their children are disciplined. Some people suggest that children must be punished to make them learn. This essay will agree that this is the right way to make them a better person as they grow. To illustrate this, the impact of punishment on a child's psychology will be analyzed, followed by suggestions on which sort of punishments are acceptable.

Firstly, a young mind is not developed enough to remember things for a prolonged period. Thus, they are often seen throwing temper tantrums when they need something. By punishing them in such situations, and that too often times, their brain gets tuned to understand that such bad behavior does not work. For instance, in case of my own 2 year old daughter, it took us more than 6 months of punishing her, before she gave up on asking for chocolate as her only meal. Similarly, school children are often punished by their teachers. The punishment often gets severe if the mistake is repeated. The fear of being punished in front of their friends ensures they improve their habits.

It is important to note that punishing a child must be to help them improve. Physical violence of any sort is not only deemed unethical, but, it is illegal as well. In case of young children, it is often suggested that any punishment must be very gentle. Something like taking away their favorite toy for some time, is what often works in case of my 2 year old. For an older child, as per UN guidelines, a time-out period is sufficient. In such a case, a child is often made to face a wall and not allowed to do any activity for certain time. The same philosophy is being used in case of my elder daughter's school. Care must be taken that the child must not get physically hurt in this process.

To conclude from above, children do need to be punished to make them learn the right thing. However, punishment must be designed in such a way to avoid any physical harm to them.