It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

During their early cognitive and emotional development, children are sometimes confused about various situations in which they do not know how to behave properly, and they may find it difficult to distinguish right from wrong. Opinions are divided as whether adults should punish young people for their mistakes or not, and I partially agree with this idea because discipline may be necessary in some certain cases, as we shall see.

On the one hand, probably neither parents nor teachers want to punish their children, both physically and psychologically. It is true that babies are unable to understand right from wrong, and toddlers or teenagers are likely to misunderstand or think negatively when being inflicted or punished if adults do not give them a reasonable explanation. More importantly perhaps, this may lead to disobedience or resentment against people around them. Therefore, from infancy to adolescence, not only are families and schools obligated to the educational development of youngsters, they must also be tolerant guides to help children understand the proper behavior in diverse circumstances. For example, parents should explain and draw some potential consequences when their children want to do something wrong like making noise in public places. Gradually, the children would develop their sense of respect other people’s privacy, forming their self-esteem in the future.

However, in some certain situations, punishment can be considered, for example, when the mistakes are committed continuously and the child resists their parents’ advice. It would be an effective solution by having family rules and firm commitments from all members. Parents might withhold pocket money from their child if he or she has not finished house chores, or timeouts can be effective discipline if he hits his younger brother. At schools, cleaning the classroom or doing extra homework can probably be proper discipline.

Overall, it is irrefutably essential to teach young children how to do or behave properly, and punishment sometimes can be applied in some circumstances as long as it is thoroughly considered and least likely to physically and psychologically hurt the children.