People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

Living in big cities means people might have more occupational opportunities and benefits from the advanced infrastructure. Nonetheless, the process of urbanization has also placed an enormous burden on citizens of metropolitan areas, as we shall see.

Probably the most obvious and chronic issue that people living in big cities have to cope with is traffic congestion. In all likelihood, it impacts negatively on the transport systems and many other aspects of life, ranging from environment, health to financial problems. People in large cities have also witnessed the increasing rate of crime, and perhaps more critically, the higher incidence of juvenile delinquency. Besides other reasons, this can be explained that when parents have to work around the clock for affording high expenses such as house, food, taxes or health care, they are less likely to have time to take care of their children properly. More importantly, the fast pace of city life might inevitably cause serious mental and psychological issues such as depression or anxiety disorders, leading to tremendous disruptions to personal life.

There are several solutions to tackle the above-mentioned problems, and moving people to the outskirts or lower population density areas appears to be possible in some way. Particularly, this might ease the pressure caused by overpopulation in big cities and thus facilitate social improvements. For example, people will be able to have more chances to approach better educational and medical systems. Also, daily commuting probably costs less time and money because traffic congestion may be less severe. However, it is crucial for authorities to analyze the possibility of relocating plans rigorously in terms of environmental and other social aspects to minimize any familiar problems happening in former places.

In conclusion, it is inevitable that metropolitan citizens have to deal with a variety of disadvantages caused by the negative impacts of urbanization, and relocating people to the suburbs or smaller towns could be an advisable solution.