Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It can be said that books have been a principal source of knowledge, and many people think that reading books enhances our intellectual abilities more than watching TV. I do not wholeheartedly agree with this opinion for several reasons, as we shall see.

On the one hand, books play a crucial role in education and in helping people to learn about life and many other things. At all stages of education, students learn mainly from books with the assistance of their teachers and parents. Although the range of books is significantly large and each type is suitable for a certain group of people, they are all beneficial to our language skills, namely reading and synthesizing information. Moreover, books with pictures and interactive contents can enrich the imagination of children, therefore making them more creative and inventive.

Nonetheless, it is by no mean accurate to say that reading books is better than watching TV in improving our language skills and imagination. Firstly, TV programs, especially foreign language channels will tremendously help improve our listening skills that cannot be achieved through reading. Secondly, children at early age are unable to read and write, hence toys and TV channels for kids appears to be the most effective means of teaching. Through lively cartoon characters integrated with simple lessons, children can gradually perfect their language abilities as well as cognitive development. In addition, watching TV is a natural preference of many people, so there is no scientific evidence to conclude that those people are less creative or their language competence is worse than book lovers.

In conclusion, I think that both reading books and watching TV are beneficial in developing our intellectual abilities but the way in which they affect might be different.