It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents a

Children are one of the most innocent yet precious gifts from God. It is very imperative for a child to have a clear idea about good and bad from an early age. Parents are one of the trusted aides for children, who can guide them in their failure and also help them during their distress. But it is very disheartening to see many parents punish their children if they are caught into any bad things. I don't think it is a very good idea that punishment is everything to correct children from their sinister surroundings.

The mind of children is in the nascent stage during the age of 4 to 6 years. This time is crucial for the development of the mind of children. Any kind of abuse, bad influence can alter the normal flow of their thinking. In a survey that is conducted by UNICEF, it is mentioned that 30 per cent of the American child population, suffers from parental abuse, bad surroundings. The figure is quite unnerving. Parents are the only one who can help their offsprings to discern between bad and good. Maximum time spent by the children is at home. So, from home, they can start learning the basics of the ethical learnings. But at the same time, it is also the responsibility of the parents to correct their children by love and care and proper counselling.

However, sometimes parents themselves are going through a rough patch of their life during divorce or any mental trauma. So, it is not possible to keep the mind calm, which results in straining relationships among the parents and their children. Further escalations create a bitter atmosphere like beating children in case of doing anything wrong. In this case, not punishment but proper counselling is needed for the children. Parents are mature enough to control any kind of tough situation and so, it is better to prevent the situation from going out of hand.

In addition to this, punishment in the form of constructive criticism or moderate degree of strictness can ameliorate the whole situation. In Finland, parents are given coaching how to take care of their children in case of bitter situations. Coaching guides of Finland reveal that strict day to day routines that are chalked out for children, able to solve the behavioural issues in children 56 per cent of the cases. Sometimes sternness from the parents also accelerates the situation to become stable. So, it is quite evident that brutal punishments are not always fruitful.

In conclusion, it can be said that Children should be guided properly from an early age to know the difference between the good and the bad. But punishment is not the sole path for this. Punishment in the name of strictness but with love and care can make the situation better.