It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives.

Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Every now and then, people mention a lot about whether taking risks is essential for their lives, both professional and personal ones. A number of people believe that taking risks brings more chance of success while others have an opposing opinion. In my point of view, the former's idea should be taken into consideration for the following compelling ideas.

First of all, considering professional life, taking risks means someone has higher chance of promotion. In practice, people who have more courage to actually do something new are more likely to be successful. For example, a white-collar with an average rate of income who has the intention of building his own company may succeed in making a large amount of money instead of doing his low-salary job and never being successful. Moreover, people who dare to do risky actions are usually the ones achieving what they dream of. Being people who actively take risks brings them confidence in their both career and personal lives. As a result, they can gain achievement through a process of striving for what they want despite how many times they fail.

On the other hand, taking risks is widely considered irresponsible. People think that those who take risks are irresponsible not only to themselves but also to their surroundings as what they do can affect others' activities. However, this idea is not practical since problems they may create have little to do with other people.

In conclusion, putting yourself at risk can bring more advantages than harm. However, it is crucial to evaluate your ability before making any decisions so as to minimize the downside of taking risks.