It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives.

Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

People should take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of taking risks overshadow the potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, taking risks can offer a few challenges. Firstly, people will have difficulties in their lives because taking risks can lead them to failure. When risks are taken by people who work as professionals, they may face social sanctions that cause a stressful life. Furthermore, their personal lives will be affected by their decision to take risks. If they are persons who are give up easily, it is difficult for them to start a new life again because of demotivation and may lead them to suicide if they do not get some helps from their relatives.

On the other hand, despite the challenges, I would argue that taking risks can pose more benefits. Firstly, it helps people to become more mature. People can learn how to make decisions carefully from their failures in their workplaces. Thus, they will obtain wisdom from their bad experience. Secondly, taking risks potentially lead people to a big success to their lives personally. It will open many opportunities for them to improve their interpersonal and intrapersonal skills.

In conclusion, while people would gain many challenges when taking risks such as social punishments and may cause death, they will obtain opportunity to learn how to be wise and see many choices in this life. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the demerits are eclipsed by the merits.