It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives.

Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

With life changing fast, people have more tasks to complete. Therefore, in some cases, they have to face the risks in order to obtain their desideration.

Recently, there is a school of thought that regardless of any part of their life, people ought to involve themselves in the risks. It is quite hard to determine whether the benefits of facing the risks overwhelm the demerits or not, given that it depends on various reasons and I will discuss it in the following paragraph.

When it comes to the advantages, it is worth mentioning that if somebody takes risks with a plan and considering the possible success rate of the thing they do, the outcome is likely to be fruitful. For instance, recent research indicates that if scientists do a deadly experiment to invent some useful stuff with a success rate of 50:50, most of them will take the risk. Another remarkable point is that some risks are worth it, even if the consequences may not live up to your expectation. For example, if you notice a conflagration and you come to rescue people, you can be wounded or even die but you will be praised and your effort is invaluable. Were you to stare and just stand there, you would have repent.

On the contrary, taking risks may bring drawbacks in certain circumstances. First, some people take risks for no driving force, just to seek attention, they can wound themselves or even commit suicide. Second, in order to earn money, many people face the risks irrespective of the terrible consequences.

Those who oppose this view may put forward that many people involve themselves in risks without any calculation, they still succeed. However, this view seems flawed as nothing is eternal and people can not be successful forever.

To sum up, taking risks is a double- edge sword, it depends on the way you act. Personally. I will take risks if it is probable and I recommend people to adopt the similar.