It is inevitable that as technology develops so traditional cultures must be lost. Technology and tradition are incompatible - you cannot have both together.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

In this contemporary era, technology is progressing at an exponential pace; thus, it is revolutionising every aspects of our life. It is irrefutable that technology is one of the reason behind the drastic destruction of our traditional culture. However, in my perspective, technology and our tradition go well together.

Firstly, traditional musical instruments such as banjos are being replaced by guitars, pianos and so on. The younger generation prefers western musics more than our classical music. Apart from this, the numbers of traditional performances organised have also been reduced due to the invention of stupid box which always broadcast numerous TV shows and serials, creating less importance to the traditional performances.

Consequently, computer games are becoming ubiquitous. Innovation of such video games are eradicating the existence of traditional games. Adolescents are becoming more addicted towards the video games that they are oblivious to the beauty of traditional games. According to them, these are old-fashioned and boring games. An axiom for this issue is to constitute traditional games into video games so that youngsters will get exposure to it.

In addition, nowadays people prefer to live in modern apartments which have enormous facilities and comforts. So usages of traditional houses have become comparatively less. The concept of nuclear family is enhancing day by day. Flats offering much secure environment. Apart from this, apartments help to reduce vicissitudes of our life. To have an ancient touch, one can include conventional concepts and furniture while building the house.

To recapitulate, the advancement of technology has indeed abraded some traditions abruptly; nevertheless, both of them are not mutually incompatible. Increment in technology does not mean throttle the culture to death. We can preserve our traditions which reflect of our origins but at the same time manage to develop our country with full utilisation of technology as it could rejuvenate traditions which is an imperative part of human civilisation.