People sleep less than before in many countries. Why people sleep less?What effect does it have individually and in society?

It is the inevitable fact that the amount of sleep plays a vital role in everyone's life. Sleep does not only help to think coherently but also rejuvenate body. Compared to past, in most of the countries it has been observed that people are not getting enough sleep and some of them are suffering from insomnia. This phenomena has some reasons as well as some effects. This essay is going to deal with both.

There are multifarious points to shore up the causes of having insufficient sleep. First and foremost reason is to earn more money that leads to work pressure and night shifts. While sleep quality can affect work,the reverse is also true. Workplace stress can follow workers home and cause restlessness. Enormous work load and exigent demand of earning money take a toll on sleep,results in innumerable health problems. Youngsters are suffering from anxiety issues and depression that is leading to sleepless nights. Another indispensable reason of not having enough sleep is sleeping disorders. Some people are fighting against this medical condition. People with excruciating body pain can also find it difficult to sleep and this can persistent for a long time. Addiction in drug has humongous effect in body that can permanently eradicate sleep from life.

Lacking in sleep has devastating effects on someone's personal life as well as professional life. Sleep plays critical role in thinking and learning. Lack of sleep hurts these cognitive process in many ways. Sleep deprivation can lead to weight gain and fatigue which can further lead to some life threatening health problems such as Heart disease, Heart attack, Stroke, High blood pressure, Diabetes etc. Overtime, insufficient sleep can contribute to depression. According to a recent observation in America, people who were diagnosed with depression were more likely to sleep less than six hours a night. Insufficient sleep and even poor quality sleep can lead to increased errors in workplace, decreased productivity and accidents that cost both lives and resources.

To recapitulate, sleeping less is one of the consequences of doing more work to have more money. Though, people will be financially fit, they will lose health which is imperative. So at least eight hours of sleep is adequate to lead a healthy life and people should keep that in mind.