It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

history is vitally important for studying the past events in a grand scale.It is one of the important subjects that students study till tenth grade.This has helped them to create insights into cultures of origin,which were less familiar to them and it also increased the cross-cultural awareness among them.I agree to the notion that local history is of prime importance than the world history in the syllabi.

Firstly,local history is the story of history in a local context about indigenous communities and environment.Vast knowedge about the local history will help children to know more about their ancestors who lived in the same geographical area.Since the study connects the past,students will learn about the innumerable sacrifices which were given by the past generations.For instance,history of india begins with the birth of Indus Valley civilization in Mohenjo-Daro,Harappa and Lothal during the pre Vedic and Vedic periods.This local history is significant as they teach students how the forces of nature destroyed the human civilization.

Secondly,local history narrates about the ancient hardships and living.Many evidences of suppression and ill-treatment of women is one among the highlighted events in ancient Indo-Aryan society.Wife burning,jauhar and sati were the most cruel customs practised in the past era.Thus,only local history can teach children about the local human conditions.

Thirdly,history of a nation helps to understand how the country came into existence.Apart from the world history, sound knowledge about history is pivotal.history of the Republic of india is a pronounced topic in the Indian history.Educating children about how the concerted efforts of many freedom fighters helped india freed from the slavery under the British will help to revive the true spirit of patriotism among them.

Lastly,critical thinking skills will directly advance the students academic studies.Learning about local history will help to realize the grand scheme of historical changes.

To conclude,art,architecture,food,fashion etc rooted in its local history.Thus, studying local history is as important as understanding oneself.