It is more important for school children to learn local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

There are some debate given that students’ local history learning is more important than theirs global one. Standing on my opinion, I truly disagree with this view. It is true that the history of individual homeland plays a crucial role in their conscious process. Nevertheless, world history is as valuable as one, especially today’s tendency is globalisation and international integration.

On the one hand, having thorough insights into local history brings manifold benefit to develop children’s patriotism. As an illustration of that, while children of a secondary school in my hometown were taught about the vital sacrifice of previous generations to protect of their sovereignty, they felt much prouder of their origin. In addition, that encourages youngsters to claim their own traditional values and identity. Personally, I think teaching students their own history is surely necessary to understand their hometown.

From another angle, world history has equal advantages as local ones. Achieving knowledge of the world’s past events helps students have a well-rounded perspective of life. Their understanding on various aspects of the world will be improved through lessons about the World War or Feminism protects against women’s abuse and discrimination. Furthermore, being taught the other countries historical backgrounds would assist young learners in their future career. Students who accumulate knowledge of this field at an early age would have a solid foundation to work for foreign enterprises, particularly those work for Japan which has a highly value company culture.

In conclusion, reclaiming my belief, the significance of local history is as equal as global one. Both of them are momentous factors to construct their own perceptions of life.