It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our contemporary life, it has always been a controversial issue whether students have to study local history instead of global history. As far as I’m concerned I would like to express my contradiction to this view because both of them are crucial for students and my reasons are explained below.

On the one hand, it is certain that studying local history helps students develop a sense of patriotism. In fact, the whole Vietnamese have suffered trauma in the war against Western countries such as Japan, America, etc… , a great number of Vietnam soldiers sacrificed their lives to protect the independence and freedom of their nation. Therefore, school children would take pride in their origin and treasure their lives as they know today. Additionally, I think It’s both privilege and responsibility for students to the past of ancestors and predecessors to understand their hometown’s traditional identity and values.

On the other hand, learning about world history is vital as the local one since world history complements the local history in helping a student understand the world. Firstly, obtaining knowledge of the world’s past events equips them with a more well-rounded perspective of life. Understanding the reasons behind the world war and genocides helps students appreciate the need for an inclusive and consensus based approach to solve problems. Moreover, understanding past global events in other countries helps students understand the present problems in their locality.For example, the Great Depression of the 1930s and global financial crisis of 2008 had similar causes.Understanding these two financial events, separated by more than seven decades, will help students prevent future financial catastrophes.

In conclusion, I believe the significance of domestic and international history cannot be brought into comparison to see which one is more necessary because they have distinctively equal meanings to children.