It is a natural process of animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should stop this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the extinction of animals is a natural phenomenon and humans have no responsibility to deter this from happening. From my perspective, I am completely against this viewpoint as people must be accountable for what they have impacted negatively on the wild environment to protect fauna as well as maintain ecosystem balance which is directly related to human life.

To commence with, humans are partly responsible for various disappearances of animal species. Although history records that many wild beasts, such as dinosaurs or dodos, went extinct from cataclysmic climate changes before human intervention, a greater proportion of species are on the verge of extinction or no longer extant as a result of human activities nowadays. Indeed, mass deforestation to build infrastructure or harvest timber, overhunting, and pollution due to industrial wastes have cost wild animals their living habitats, leading to food source depletion and eventually, demise. To illustrate, Australia's recent wildfires have **pushed around 100 species closer to extinction and in Africa**, many species such as rhinos /ˈraɪ.noʊ/ or elephants are hunted for their body parts. Therefore, humans, as conscious stewards of the earth, should be under a moral obligation to the detrimental impacts of their activities on wildlife.

Another aspect is that conserving endangered fauna is imperative as the loss of a species could disrupt the ecosystem balance on the Earth which leading some disadvantages to human life. Since all living organisms’ existence in a habitat is interrelated, once a species succumbs to extinction, other animals that depend on it will be affected and eventually die, resulting in a lack of biodiversity. Consequently, this can cause potential damage to the nature-based economy. For instance, in 2013, the sunflower starfish in Northern California declined in number due to disease, thus causing its prey - the purple sea urchins to flourish. This sudden proliferation has damaged the red urchins’ population and also exhausted a great source of sushi, which resulted in a slump in the area’s economy. Moreover, some animal species may possess unique genetic traits that are resistant to some ailments so if they disappear, people lose the opportunity to study them to pave the way for breakthroughs in medicine, biotechnology, and other scientific domains.

In conclusion, although it is recorded that some animal species underwent extinction due to unpreventable natural impacts, it cannot be denied that it is humans that mostly pose a threat to the wildlife environment nowadays. Therefore, I still would take the view that people should conserve endangered animals as it not only is an ethical duty but also maintains humanity's benefits from nature.