It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young

people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a knowledge-based society, there is a notion that university education can guarantee students' career prospect. However, it is lately perceived that providing university or tertiary education for the majority of students are impossible and useless. While this thinking is valid to a certain, I only agree to half of the statement as university is quite beneficial to high school graduates.

To begin with, university is certainly useful since it enables students to live in an environment where they can accumulate knowledge in various fields and students are provided with much deeper knowledge than they did in high school. Furthermore, students can also enhance their practical skills such as interpersonal and teamworking skills through group project assigned in university, such skills are believed to be extremely useful for working in the future. Additionally, their friend circle can get expanded considering that students are exposed to new relationships in university. Moreover, having formal qualifications such as a bachelor’s degree or even a doctoral degree, can guarantee one’s career prospect and job opportunities.

Despite the benefits that university education may bring, providing tertiary education for a massive number of students are impossible considering the exorbitant cost. Plus, the numbers of university are insufficient for all the students to attend since the number of high school graduates are increasing annually. For instance, in Vietnam, there are approximately one million of high school graduates this year and the figure has been growing consistently. Also, in some case, there are students who are experiencing an unfortunate life as they are financially unstable to pursue tertiary education and have to do part-time jobs to cover their living expenses.

In conclusion, although university are quite necessary and advantageous for students as they create more employment opportunities, supplying entry to a high proportion of young people are unfeasible on many levels.