Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

In today’s advanced society, technology has substantially affected the interaction among mankind. While many have opposed to this statement, I believe that the development in technology has revolutionized our way of interacting as it has introduced us to more prominent opportunities.

Technology has created a great deal of impacts on human’s relationships and communication. In the past, it is common to make friends at school or at work, hence people’s friend circles are usually not very wide. However, in the modern society, cutting edge technological devices and applications have allowed us to get in contact with each other more effortlessly and sufficiently. For instance, there are social media applications that were designed solely for the purpose of expanding one’s friend circle such as Facebook or Instagram. Additionally, with those applications, people can communicate through a variety of methods, emailing or messaging and so on which is extremely beneficial for office workers considering that they can be more productive even when staying at home.

Despite some drawbacks technology may bring such as social media addiction and computer fatigue, the benefits of it definitely outweigh the disadvantages. Considering that not only human’s relationships are improved through technological applications, modern digital devices also assist people to contact others on the move, at the same time, which is time-saving, thus productivity in communication is enhanced. Furthermore, expanding one’s friend circle through social media is one way to secure one’s career prospect since public relations is considered a vital element to success and prosperity.

In conclusion, my conviction is that technological advances are undoubtedly a positive development to humankind due to the fact that they facilitate people relationships, interactions with each other and enhance work flow and productivity.