Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

In the omnipresent, it appears that more competition has sparked among businesses and entrepreneurs have been racing against each other, mostly in the marketing field. People have a notion that big companies are raising their budget in promoting and advertising their products and that resulted in a substantial increase in sale. While this maybe valid to a certain, there are heavy consequences that we might have to deal with in the near future.

Firstly, as large businesses or enterprises pour endless amount of money into marketing their products, the quality of those products are actually being neglected. To create a product, the board of direction has to decide the cost for producing, transporting, and marketing. In order to raise the budget for marketing, the fund for producing may be reduce hence the reduce in quality and the rise in the price. Therefore, widely promoted products usually can not live up to consumers expectation. Additionally, this can also cause negative impacts on local products considering that they are not as mainstream, although their quality is far more superior. Generally speaking, local brands are often neglected due to the popularity of big corporation’s marketing.

Solutions can be created to introduce consumers to local products. Due to the lack of marketing and advertisements, local brands can not stand out and create as good an impression to consumers as big corporation. For that reason, local businesses should take the risk and call out for investment to raise their marketing fund. Furthermore, the government can assist local brands through political movements such as exporting local goods to other countries or urge their citizens to use domestic goods. On top of that, raising awareness among consumers is vital, since many of them were fooled by wrong advertisements from large enterprises.

In conclusion, consumers have to be cautious of their purchase and be aware of falsely promoted products by large businesses. Additionally, local brands should be encouraged to become more mainstream in order to attract customers.