It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people

It is argued that it is impossible and useless to offer tertiary education for a tremendous number of young. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement.

There are many reasons to explain why having a university degree has a vital role in the future of young people in this knowledge-based society. Firstly, this is because higher education provides students with more job opportunities in the fiercely competitive market, which leads to the reduction of the unemployment rate in the country. In addition to this, when people have the financial stability to meet their essential needs, the well-being of those also improved. Secondly, the university also offers a dynamic environment to train the faculty of the young generation. During in period of pursuing further education, people have more chances of enhancing their practical skills by participating in extracurricular activities such as communication, team-work skills. For instance, joining clubs helps the young broaden their social relationships, which is key to the ladder of success in later life.

It is, however, impossible to provide almost all young people with access to tertiary education. Firstly, it has the possibility of wasting money in many developing countries. If most people are well-educated by the university, the government have to allocate their huge financial resources in building school places, while there are many aspects of life need to be invested in, such as infrastructures, pollution issues. Secondly, equipping people with higher education may increase the risk of imbalance in the workforce because these people are likely to choose high paying jobs. This leads in the absence of manual labours such as workers, plumbers.

In conclusion, for many reasons I have mentioned above, I still hold my initial view that although making way for most people to follow further education has many benefits, it is not possible to happen.