It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South pole.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

It cannot be denied that traveling to far-flung destinations such as the poles has become more common among scientists and tourists. This essay will analyze the underlying reasons for this trend and explain why this is a negative development.

The rising interest in polar tourism is the key contributor to the increase in the number of tourists to the poles. Despite the harsh weather conditions which may put people in jeopardy, their desires for new experiences in isolated areas are still greater/ stronger. Besides, people’s living standards have significantly been improved, which allows them to afford lavish trips to the places that still remain undiscovered. Moreover, due to the high pressure at work that they have to bear, relaxation becomes an indispensable part of their lives.

Although this type of tourism has positive effects in terms of recreation and science, I reckon this development is considered a detriment. Firstly, the severe condition in these regions may have negative influences on both visitors' and researchers’ health. This means that they are more likely to suffer from illness unless they are well-equipped. For example, it is easy for them to get a bad cold or even face high risks of fatalities on account of accidents or the shortage of food. Secondly, these journeys can pose threats to the surrounding environment as people have a bad habit of throwing litter, which pollutes wildlife’s natural habitats. What is more, the regular movement of vessels also causes the icebergs which are homes to a number of marine life, to break. As a consequence, it is likely that their daily routines such as feeding and breeding be interrupted.

To conclude, the great passion for new adventures and the improvement in life quality are the main factors contributing to the development of polar tourism, and I firmly believe this is a negative trend despite the benefits it brings about.