Some people think that as housing is a basic need for people, governments should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The notion of free housing has always been in heated debate, particularly in the era of overpopulation. Some believe that it is the government's duty to offer houses to low-income individuals free of charge. I, however, do not completely agree as this plan may partly deal with certain social issues, it may trigger several problems.

Without a doubt, providing free access to houses to financially incapable citizens fosters sustainable development. Not only does it deal with homelessness but also reduces the financial burden on those who cannot afford it. Many young couples are struggling to own a house, which potentially increases stress among them. Once they are provided a living place to settle down, their living condition will significantly improve. Moreover, when houses become more accessible regardless of people’s incomes, it promotes social equality, narrowing the gap between social classes. Therefore, the government should take responsibility to ensure its citizens are housed.

Notwithstanding, the free-housing scheme could be perceived as impractical and impossible as it presents enormous challenges. In the contemporary world, house prices are constantly thriving, meaning the project requires huge financial resources. This results in increasing taxes and cuts in essential services such as traffic, education, and health care. More severely, this plan may provoke a sense of dependency and irresponsibility among residents who may take houses for granted and thus refuse to make efforts. As a consequence, not only does it fail to thoroughly tackle social issues but also leads to the national budget deficit which should have been invested in more urgent proposals such as energy deficiency, illiteracy, and environmental pollution. This also means that authorities should introduce financial packages to subsidize their citizens instead of completely assisting them.

All things considered, despite the short-term benefits it brings about, offering accommodation free of charge to underprivileged people needs to be taken into consideration to ensure that inhabitants have a place to live while maintaining government budgets.