It is often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree
with this view?
In many countries, the population is ageing consistently, and this presents the older people themselves
with challenges as well as opportunities. It seems to me that retirement is not in fact the most contented period
of life, and I will explain why in this essay.
Firstly, retired people have to contend with the major issue of health. No matter how optimistic a
person is, and how conscientiously they try to keep fit, their health will inevitably decline as they grow older.
This affects their mobility, their ability to interact with people, and their physical comfort when compared to
the earlier stages of their life. A second negative factor is the whole question of finance. By this we mean that
even people who have saved or invested carefully during their working lives will find their income in
retirement reduced considerably, for example by relying on savings. This results in their leisure options being
more restricted than in their younger years, even though they have more time to fill. This leads us on to the
final, and perhaps most significant drawback to retirement, which is isolation. This happens when declining
health and limited resources make people increasingly cut-off, even if they have surviving family members who
seek to care for them. However much the family (or neighbours and social services) may offer support, this
lack of contact will lead progressively to a less contented frame of mind.
It is true that there are some positives to retirement, most notably the time to pursue personal interests
and the presence of grandchildren in many cases. Despite this, it seems that for many older people, these
pleasures are outweighed by issues which can cause stress and depression.
To conclude, the problems of health, financial concerns and isolation combine together to make
retirement a challenging and potentially difficult time for many, especially when compared to the prime period
of life. This is not to say that all retired people suffer in this way, but it appears to be the case very frequently.