It's more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

History has been commonly educated as a compulsory subject since primary education. During the class, students are taught to acquire knowledge about transformation of our society and human civilization. Personally, history education should be delivered at both national and global level so that students are better equipped with knowledge and attain cultural literacy.

On the one hand, classes where the local history is educated provides a perspective for understanding how the present problems are formed in their communities and how to tackle them. For example, a period of past history introducing black death enlightens students about the importance of taking sanitation precaution and public health measures. Hence, when we deal with modern epidemics and even pandemics, we are fully aware of using similar strategies to deal with plagues. In addition, this education also helps students learn to appreciate the cultures and heritages of their own communities. By studying the historical events occurring in the region, they can gain a sense of pride and ownership of their own land.

However, world history should be equally made a core part in educating students as it broadens students' horizons and knowledge beyond their immediate experience to their area by introducing diverse cultures and societies. This learning fosters an appreciation for cultural diversity and promotes tolerance and empathy for different cultures, traditions and ideologies. Studying world history helps students to develop an awareness of interconnections of each nation and the impact of globalization. In depth study of past events on a global scale will aid us in realizing that we are interrelated no matter what nationality we are, and our decision must be made with the purpose of contributing to the planet.

In conclusion, all the past societies at home and abroad have an endowment of collective knowledge. Sharing local and global history is as important when we expect young people to learn from mistakes, have cultural inclusiveness as well as a sense of national and global citizenship.