It's more important for school children to learn about their local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The study of history is a crucial component of education which facilitates students' understanding the past and connecting to the present. While it is argued that priority should be given to learning native history, I believe that history classes should be delivered on both national and global scale so that students are better equipped with knowledge and attain cultural literacy.

On the one hand, classes where the local history is educated provides a perspective for understanding how the present problems are formed in students' communities and how to tackle them. For example, a period of past history introducing black death enlightens students about the importance of taking sanitation precaution and public health measures. Hence, when they deal with modern epidemics and even pandemics, they have been trained to use what they have learned from history to deal with plagues. In addition, this education also helps students learn to appreciate the cultures and heritages of their own communities. By studying China's War resistance against Japan, Chinese students can gain a sense of national pride and patriotism.

However, world history should be equally made a core part in educating students as it broadens students' horizons and knowledge beyond their immediate experience to their area by introducing diverse cultures and societies. This learning fosters an appreciation for cultural diversity and promotes tolerance and empathy for different cultures, traditions and ideologies. Studying world history helps students to develop an awareness of interconnections of each nation and the impact of globalization. In depth study of past events on a global scale will aid us in realizing that we are interrelated no matter what nationality we are, and our decision must be made with the purpose of contributing to the planet.

In conclusion, all the past societies at home and abroad have an endowment of collective knowledge. Sharing local and global history is as important when we expect young people to learn from mistakes, have cultural inclusiveness as well as a sense of national and global citizenship.