It is said that people who read books for pleasure have better imagination and language skills than people who watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that people who derive pleasure from books are more imaginative and have better lexical skills. Personally, I believe that watching TV is of equal significance to reading books in terms of developing language ability and originality.

On the one hand, there are good reasons to say that watching television programmes can help to enhance one’s language skills and boost imagination. With regard to the former, television viewing can help people to expose themselves to language in different forms such as sounds or words, thus retaining knowledge better and learning how to convey information effectively. For example, through watching “The Debaters” on VTV7, I learned how to get my views across to the audience and make them more persuasive by using illustrations and gestures when making a presentation on a certain topic. As for imagination, television programmes about news, wildlife or tourism enable people to imagine the world around them. In fact, many famous architects in the world have attributed their creative ideas for building houses to the programmes they watched when they were younger.

However, the benefits of television on one’s lexical ability and creative thinking cannot be denied. In fact, it has been scientifically proven that reading is the optimal way to enrich vocabulary, which confers further benefits for one’s study and jobs. For instance, those with a wide range of lexical resources tend to do well at school as they have superior reading skills, which are sharpened through books and physical materials. Additionally, when reading, people usually have to conjure up images of what they read and predict the upcoming scenarios to understand the messages the others send out. This clearly renders the fact that reading is an indispensable tool to hone one’s language skills and stimulate imaginative thinking.

In conclusion, reading is often recommended to improve language capabilities and imagination power for an individual, but the role of TV in the individual’s development of verbal abilities and imaginative thinking should not be underrated.