It is said that raising the cost of air tickets would reduce the number of people traveling by planes because of damaging issues for the environment. While I partly agree with this tendency, I strongly believe that other measures would be more effective.

On the one hand, increasing air tickets is considered as a solution to address the problems related to the environment. When the cost of air travel is cheap, more people can afford to fly. The growth in popularity of economic airlines proves that cheap air travel would encourage flying. For example, in the UK, after 1996, numerous people booked holiday packets to holiday resorts to get away from it all is increasing because budget airlines offered attractive and affordable prices. Therefore, there is definitely a link between the cost of plane tickets and citizens traveling by plane.

On the other hand, I would contend that other approaches such as introducing renewable energy to the airplane would be more productive. The first reason is that increasing airline tickets just affects the minority of people with low incomes. Individuals living in affluence will travel by plane owing to its fast speed and inconvenience. Secondly, it is obvious that developing cleaner fuels would be more feasible and effective in relation to sustainable development. This would cut down the carbon emissions of aircraft and make a significant contribution to reducing our reliance on fossil fuels.

In conclusion, although raising the price of air travel is an effective policy to adopt to discourage people from flying, it would be environmentally better to concentrate on developing clearer non-polluting fuels for aircraft.