It is suggested that everyone should have a car, a TV and a fridge.

Do the advantages of this development for society outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a suggestion that it is necessary for each person to possess items meeting their fundamental needs such as a car, a TV and a fridge. While this tendency brings clear benefits to some extent, I believe that there are more drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several advantages of having a personal car and the modern facilities such as TVs, bridges. Obviously, most people living far away from their workplace often need the availability of own vehicles to travel on a daily basis, leading to the diminution of journey time on the road. Moreover, owning a TV might be a perfect choice of recreation because offering a variety of entertaining channels including Star Movies or Netflix, which satisfies viewers’ personal preferences. Additionally, the possession of a fridge results in saving a significant amount of time spent on shopping for food on a regular basis. All covenience above allow heightening people’ ways of life in today’s society.

On the other hand, I opine that the disadvantages of those cutting-edge kinds of equipment are greater than their advantages in terms of both environmental and individual levels. Firstly, the dramatic rise in possessing a private car is attributed to the one of main causes of air pollution. Therefore, people are likely to suffer from respiratory illnesses or even a lung cancer due to the high exposure to exhaust fumes. From personally perspective, convenient and comfortable commodities provided by well-known manufacturers are prohibitively expensive, so this could put a financial burden on people in specific cases. For example, fresh graduates with an unstable job, but tending to purchase luxury items by credit cards. Thus, it is easy for them to get into serious debt when losing their jobs.

In conclusion, although the possession of the modern items as mentioned above brings some considerable benefits, in my opinion the advantages overshadow disadvantages.