It is unaccepted that people who work in certain professions, e.g. finance, media, entertainment and sport, are paid such high salaries while others, who do more important jobs in society, are underpaid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a growing argument that those working in high-profile professions can earn an astonishing amount of money compared to the others, which is unfair. In this essay I will discuss why these people deserve such admirably financial rewards.

The are several reasons why footballers, celebrities or high-flyers in finance have high income. Anyone who reach highest level of these fields must be uniquely gifted individuals. In addition, even the most talented must undergo many years of training to develop the skills required, and this takes great commitment, dedication, and passion. Another obvious reason is the huge profit in the region of millions of dollars they can create thanks to their talents and influence. Take football superstar Cristiano Ronaldo as an example, it can be argued that this player deserves a wage that reflects his ability and dedication. Since his stunning return, both Manchester United and Premier League have achieved far more significant benefits in financial terms.

Having said that, I agree that people who do prestigious jobs in society such as doctors or teachers are underpaid. Although they do not create obvious economic value, their contributions to the development of society are undeniable. Moreover, the flashiness and the fame can mislead young people and motivate them to pursue their dream of becoming a star rather than a doctor or an engineer. Having said that, considerably financial rewards often come at a price, whether that involves the loss of privacy for celebrities, or long working days in the case of successful financiers.

In conclusion, I can see no reason why people in high-profile positions should not be paid as well as they usually are. Granted, others in society earns too little for the important work they do, but it shouldn’t mean that these talented individuals are paid less. These high earners create happiness and act as role models for the young, often while their own privacy and well-being suffers.