Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for a country, while some think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

The argument whether hosting an international sports event is beneficial for a country has polarized the public. In this essay, I would attempt to shed light on both viewpoint and present my opinion.

To begin with, the proponents argue that such events need a great amount of money that should have been spent on social services such as healthcare or education. This, as a result, would put too much pressure on government budget in terms of spending on infrastructure and new facilities. These newly built amenities might not even be reused after the event, which is totally a waste. A further issue is that a lot of resources will be allocated for crucial support in every part of the event. For example, for 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo, there are about eighty thousand volunteers working tirelessly to ensure everything go as planned.

Having said that, one big plus from being the host country of an international sports event is that it is the chance to promote nation branding. It will contribute to enhance the position and prestige of the country in the international arena while attracting more tourists in case the event is successful organized. What is more, public awareness of the importance of sporting activities would be increased as well. Regarding facilities built for the event, government should come up with solutions to make use of them. Korea is a typical example of reusing these kinds of sport amenity. Either the stadiums or sport centres which are built for 1988 Olympic Games was refurbished for other purposes such as exhibition or sport museum.

Weighing both sides of the argument again, I am of the opinion that the benefits of hosting an international sport event outweighs the drawbacks. Although it would be somewhat costly, especially for developing countries, the long-term benefits are precious.