As languages such as English Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken there is a fear that many minority languages may die out Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages What is your view of this practice

Some people are concerned that numerous minority languages is under threat of dying out as increasing numbers of people speak languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin. In response to this, action has been taken to protect minority languages in some countries. I believe it is necessary to do so and more attention should be paid to maintaining the balance between minority languages protection and communication across different areas.

There is no doubt that increasing use of lingua franca brings conveniences and improves efficiency in globalisation. Trades can be operated without obstacles across countries using common languages, leading to economic progress in these areas. Also, scientists from different regions get more opportunities to communicate and work collaboratively in order to study significant projects that are beneficial to whole human beings. However, the widely use of these languages may result in a reduction in the number of minority languages users.

Because language is one aspect of cultures more than a tool for communication, minority languages are still valuable and deserve protection. Some countries make main languages such as English as main subjects in schools but neglect the learning of native languages. As a result, there is a loss of cultural confidence and identification among local students with a lack of knowledge in their native language. Some steps have been taken to solve this issue.

In conclusion, common languages play a significant role in globalisation; however, native minority languages is indispensable in cultural identification. It deserves more attention to balance between protecting minority languages and communication in common languages.