Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender

It is deniable that people all have strengths and weaknesses. But I completely disagree with the idea to exclude one gender from certain job posts. I am convinced that gender may affect but can not determine one’s capability.

The main differences between male and female are in physical aspects. It seems that women tend to have less strength than men do. However, this is not definite and it can be changed by long-term training. And it is common that physical conditions vary in individuals much more than in genders. So the suggestion to select people by gender for certain professions is lacking for reasonability. Competent people may fail to pursue their career if one gender is forbidden in some fields.

Cooperation of men and women can contribute to efficiency and harmony in society. The participation of the other gender in some fields actually makes positive effects. For example, police was assumed as a job specially for men but some people prefer to turn to policewomen when they are in need. They describe policewomen as gentle and considerate so their requirements can be understood patiently. Another example is that some studies were predominated by men scientists who subconsciously focused on studying men. As a result, their outcome did not apply to all people because they have neglected half of humans. These mistakes can be easily avoided by males and females working collaboratively.

In conclusion, there may be some restrictions caused by gender but they can be overcome in various ways. It makes no sense to deprive people of right to make free choices in terms of professions.