Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believed that knowing the past is no longer relevant to our present lives. It is because they want to leave the unpleasant memories behind. However, it is entirely disagreeable. Our past has a great influence on what we are now today.

I often hear some people say that the past is past, everything is history, and those events occurred were no longer important. This is a form of self-defense mechanism for those who undergone into dark days of their lives. They want to cocoon themselves from the possible trauma, bad memories, and negative feelings it may unleash, once the doors of their past are opened. On the contrary, some thought that everything was done and there is no other way that we can undo it. Hence, it is wise to move on and continue with their lives at present.

The past is the reason why we exist. It teaches us vital lessons. For instance, in the Philippines government, a lot of presidents and government officials are reflecting on past governance to help them boost the country's economy and prevent them from repeating the same mistakes like changing the constitution and proclaiming Martial Law. Moreover, numerous numbers of mummies dug by the archeologist in different parts of the world aid in the study of the cure of different diseases. The past is part of our history that leads to the prosperous present.

To conclude, Education, and emotional support is need by those who do not value the past. Whereas, studying and awareness of the past is unequivocally important. It enables us to be a better human being.