Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In a vast world filled with completely different languages, keeping all of them alive has proven to be significantly difficult for our society. No small amount of languages are already considered to be lost and therefore people are really concerned about the future of their local languages because the ever more spreading English is being a threat to all the other ones.

First and foremost, it should be widely known English is a widespread language and it’s of a big importance to our modern world. It’s numerous benefits contribute to our daily routine quite a lot as it can be used for simple and advanced communication across the whole globe. For example, it is significantly easier to converse with a foreign person using a universal language like English and thus it assists travelers by providing them with the ability to speak in different countries without having to learn their local language. Furthermore, the English language can be used to study or work in foreign countries by having a certain level of command over it. Studying abroad or in a foreign university where people all over the world gather each one with their own mother tongue is a perfect example of the importance of English.

But there can be no renunciation that a local language plays a rather important role for a country and it’s whole nation. It is very clear that a country’s language holds it’s history and culture and without there being a language unique to that nation, then its whole tradition would be different. All the different languages all around the globe are the sole reason why a variety of cultures exist. Native American tribes with simple local languages and customs are proof of this. Nonetheless, preserving all distinct mother tongues is number one priority. One way of achieving this is by implementing local languages as a mandatory subject in schools. That way a lot of children will be able to spread those diverse languages and hopefully provide a better future for them. In addition, it is very important to teach the young ones the importance of a language. If new generations begin to cherish their mother tongues, then our society will be able to preserve more languages than before.

In conclusion, I do agree that the English language holds an important role in our society but local languages cannot be neglected because they are as much important as English is. They are able to provide people with an endless amount of information about a country and therefore it will be a dramatic loss to our society if they are completely lost.