Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

In today’s modern world, being a consumer is often seen as a normal thing. In order to satisfy the needs of all the consumers, countries are forced to produce a wide variety of goods. Some people think that the industry should provide them with a higher quantity of products. I totally disagree because our resources are limited and the increased production will pollute our environment.

First and foremost, the resources of our planet are expendable but are also being wasted on regular basis. It should be noted that the wide selection of raw goods provided by our planet must be preserved for future generations. Keeping the water reservoirs, like natural springs, is of big importance and serves as a perfect example. In addition, people waste a significant amount of resources on goods which are not necessary. For example, consumers tend to buy a lot of clothes but at the same time wear only a fraction of what they own. It is quite obvious that the scarce amount of materials we are provided should not be allowed to be wasted on meaningless stuff.

Due to the massive use of resources, our planet is being harmed and thus natural disasters occur ever more often. The massive amount of deforestation is leaving the planet with horrendous scars. Consequences such as the extinction of a lot of plants and whole groups of animals changing their ecosystem are constantly shown on the television. Furthermore, we tend to pollute the environment with the production of goods. As an example are the countless petroleum spills in the ocean or the industrial gases which contribute to the greenhouse effect. In general, our planet is suffering because our actions are led by a consumer’s greed.

Overall, I completely disagree that the constant increase of the production industry is a proper goal because the amount of resources that are labeled as trash and thrown away is simply too much and should not increase in the future.