Globalization has changed our lives in many aspects, especially language. Many schools nowadays take priority in English rather than the relative language. While believing learning English is crucial, I still think people should take action to preserve their mother tongue.

To begin with, English is important for many reasons. It is one of the most common languages, which all international companies' documents must be written in. Therefore, mastering English gives one more opportunity to explore the world or simply have a well-paid job. In developing countries namely Vietnam, Thailand or the Philippines, workers with English certificates tend to be paid as twice as much as others.

On the other hand, the local language should also be taught for cultural preservation. A language is a nation's voice and spirit so keeping it alive is a way to spread patriotism. However, in order to do so, authorities need to have policies that encourage everyone to learn the language. For example, teaching it at schools or organizing local language competitions.

In conclusion, English is an advantageous language to learn but it is the local one that is the spirit of a people. From my viewpoint, integrating into the world while maintaining one's own culture is a challenging problem. Only by solving it, could a nation aim for stable development.