Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English Should we try to ensure the survival of local lang

In a highly integrated world of 21st century, the expectation for employees has become higher. They need to be comfortable with using many different technologies, acquire many skills and more importantly can speak multiple languages. That is the reason why many people suppose that English is an important language and it is necessary to stress it more than the local language, yet I would agree with those people that oppose this opinion.

People who advocate that English is more important than the local language, often present the idea that being able to speak English, a person would receive a higher job opportunity than a normal person. Moreover, these people would also have a chance to work oversea and pursuit of higher education in a foreign country. Besides, with language ability, they can inherit well human knowledge as most learning materials were first published and written in English.

On the flip side, emphasizing too much on the foreign language would encounter many negative impacts too. Firstly, if children were pushed too much to speak a foreign language, they may have language disorder problems when they barely comprehend the native language and the foreign language. Secondly, not all people have the talent to learn another language. Therefore, it is important to evaluate the children's ability before pushing them to learn another language too much. They could end up living in stress and probably do anything to get away from it. Finally, underestimating the role of the local language would make a community losing its own identity. To some extent, they would no longer feel being a part of a country and there is no reason to commit or serve their own country. Instead of that, they could work in a more developing country with a better wage as well as living conditions.

To recapitulate, even though the role of English or foreign languages, in general, has become essential in the nowadays life. However, we should not exaggerate its role.