The leisure industry is growing rapidly. The active role of modern technology in people’s lives nowadays made them less creative. Do you agree or disagree?

The 21st century has witnessed the leisure market as one of the fastest growing industries, thanks to the advancement of technology. Nevertheless, there is a general consensus that the active role of modern technology has spoiled our generation and impeded our creativity. Supported by many well-grounded reasons, the author’s belief, however, has never coincided with such stance.

First of all, it is unreasonable to conclude that today’s entertainment is simpler and less challenging than before. Not long ago when people used to play games that require little brainstorming effort such as cards and chess, it was out of the reach of their expectation that games will evolve much rapidly and tremendously later. Nowadays, technological inventions such as computers have allowed games to be much more complicated, requiring a decent combination of great skills, knowledge and creativity to form an appropriate playing strategy. modern computer games have, thus, transformed into a valuable tool that trains people’s mind to be more creative and sophisticated.

Secondly, some people argue that the ubiquity of entertainment devices and its harmful by-products such as sedentary lifestyles will turn watchers into monotonous and mechanical entertainment seekers. however, this view is flawed as these cases, though admittedly exist, are often isolated events that should not be generalized. On the contrary, televisions, for example, are increasingly used as a common educational device that is widely used in kindergartens and schools to facilitate young minds’ development of knowledge and imagination, two precursors to creativity.

What have been discussed above refutes a prevailing notion that modern technologies stifle people’s creativity and make them passive and bland entertainment seekers. Latest technologies have, in fact, made people more creative and knowledgeable.