THE LIKELY EFFECTS OF RISING SEA LEVEL ON VIETNAM

Today, climate change is the most concerned issue. And sea level rise is one of the consequences of climate change. Sea level rise in Vietnam has caused serious effects such as: flooding, destroying the habitat of coastal areas.

Firstly, the consequence of rising sea level is flooding. Citizens will lost their lands and they are forced to leave their houses to move to another places. Some animals will lost their shelter. Besides that flooding threatens biodiversity, resulting in the disappearing of different kinds of species. The economic of the city is also affected when they lost large amount of tourists. Thus, citizens' livelihood are more difficult

Secondly, destroying the habitat of coastal areas results from rising sea level. Saltwater intrusion makes soil become saltier so that some plants will die. Seawater can mix with the groundwater and makes groundwater contaminated; as a result, citizens will suffer some diseases. The groundwater is really important for every species since it is the source of fresh water for drinking and growing crops.

In summary, floods and habitat damage are serious effects of rising sea levels. Through this, we need to come up with specific measures to protect the environment in general and improve this issue in particular.