The likely effects of rising sea level on Vietnam

Over 50 percent of square cities in Vietnam are coastal areas. It is not excited that Vietnam which is the one of countries must be facing the effects of rising sea level. One of the main factors are changed climate, decreasing agricultural products and loss of live hoods.

The first effect of rising sea level that we can see through the changed climate. In the report of Center for hydro-meteorological and environment science and technology, Nguyen Duc Ngu Professor said in within 70 years, one of average temperature had increased higher 0.7 Celsius degrees and sea level had risen higher 20cm. The average temperature in nearly four decades (1961-2000) are higher the three previous decades (1931-1960). Meanwhile, typhoons tend to move down South and hurricane season is also moving towards the end of the year. Natural disasters are more and more increasing; for example, flooding , drought, and so on. Those has made severe consequences for human and assets in many localities throughout the country.

Secondly, Vietnamese agricultural products will be decrease strongly. The more serious influence, many staples will not be existed in the future. The main cause is the prediction about the two major Mekong Delta and Red River Delta which will be submerged if sea level is rising higher and higher every year. Otherwise, the weather is more and more draconic that it also destroyed the crops.

Finally, thousands people in Vietnam are at the risk of losing of lands because most of residents live in coastal cities such as Ho Chi Minh City, Hai Phong, Hue, Da Nang, Nha Trang, Vung Tau and so on. These areas are directly subjected to the impacts of sea level rise. following the latest predictions of sciences, within the next 30 years, when sea level rising higher 30cm, it will have 30000 households with more than 170 000 people in 18 coastal communes, precincts lost their houses. Coupled with the loss of lands, the situation of rising sea level, the high tides made the deluge in deltas that is deeper.

Sea level rise poses a great threat to Viet Nam climate, agricultural products and citizen houses. The disaster adaptation policy should be considered as a continuing learning in doing process. The best way for Vietnam to cope with sea level rise is to develop with the support of international response organizations into a developed country in the near future.