Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems

It is undeniable that settling in addition to the person have to communicate by a foreign language day by day may lead to a variety of social issues in terms of practical ones. I believe that living in an overseas country has many drawbacks but it also have some positive impacts on individuals.

When a person need to use foreign language usually, he or she can get lots of merits. First of all, they may maintain their pronunciation as well as vocabulary to speak more fluently. That is also the reason why the ones who are keen on learning a new language will tend to study or settle in that country. It is not only help them save money but also is a feasible way to become a bilingual or trilingual. Secondly, individuals can make friends who are local residents and learn about their culture and attitudes. Hence, it helps expand their horizons. Besides, building a good relationships with foreign friends also has political meanings as it strengthens the relationship between 2 countries.

However, living in a foreign country also has many negative effects on individuals. Firstly, You can make them become less confident due to the fact that the language is not their mother tongue and it is really hard to speak fluently as locals. Therefore, Many people will feel shy when they talk to native residents and lead to the lack of social relationships. Moreover, in many countries, there is still a severe discrimination. For instance, as being an Asean. if the person travels or settles in Europe, he or she might be discriminated because of their color skin or nationality. Thus, those individuals will find it hard to claim carers allowance as the local people despise even do not recognize their efforts and contributions.

In conclusion, while settling in a foreign country may cause a number of benefits such as improving language skills and making new friends, there are still some detrimental effects on people’s confidence and their future chances.