Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extend do you agree or not agree with this agreement?

Living in another country, despite of the language barrier, will not lead to severe social and practical difficulties as we may imagine. But on the other hand, it is a precious opportunity for us to learn a new language. Besides, obstacles in communication if any can also be solved easily by supporting electronic applications.

Living abroad, for many reasons, proves to be the best way to learn a new language. The native-speaking environment will provide authentic inputs, including but not limited to tone, intonation, lexical and figurative meanings of words, phrases and sentences. Now that languages are closely associated with cultural and social circumstances, living in native speakers' place will expose the new comer to what is actually spoken in real life, where he or she can hear the language, figure out its meanings and step by step get used to producing it in a real context.

For the needs of accommodation and social interaction, difficulties are inevitable when living in a new country due to language differences. However, there are hundreds of supporting electronic applications and devices, which play roles as translators or interpreters to bring with us all the time. Google Translator, for instance, is a very popular and effective "translator" that is highly friendly to users. It can help to translate from one language to one another just in a second.

For these reasons, those who have to reside abroad should not concern too much about language obstacles they may face. They can not only get over it easily by having supporting devices and applications help them, but also equip themselves with a new foreign language competency.