Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid development of the economy, an increasing number of people choose to live in a foreign country to enjoy different culture and custom. However, some people think it can raise both social and practical issues. I strongly disagree with this statement.

Firstly, living in the country where shares different lifestyles and beliefs can widen people’s horizon. Different culture and custom result in different view of living in all aspects of the society. Such influence can open people’s mind. For instance, western people put less stress on their children in terms of education which shows a completely innovated approach to teaching. It has led Chinese parents to consider another way of raising their kids which improves the happiness of Chinese next generation. Also, embracing various culture and custom could give people opportunities to try new things which lead to optimism. For example, individuals may feel healthier when trying a new diet like gluten-free diet which is opposite the popular trend of eating more whole grains in China. The sense of novelty coming subsequently might bring more happiness and motivation.

On the other hand, many people argue that living in a foreign country might create social and practical issues. At first, the growth of foreign employees working in local company occupies native citizens’ working opportunity and social welfare. Also, the differences could broaden the gap between foreigners and natives. Even though efforts are paid to improve the relationship, it still considerably hard to overcome language burden as well as fit in the local society. However, along with the progress of globalization is becoming faster and faster, and friendships among countries have been built to cooperate and change. As such effect getting deeper, the connection between people will be stronger.

Overall, living abroad could widen horizon and offer more opportunities. Although concerns of causing social and practical issues are rising, efforts of globalization can eliminate the bias entirely in the future.