Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

With the significant improvement of technology and economy, people are facing more choices than they used to be. On the one hand, it is beneficial that more opportunities are offered. However, some people think that a great deal of problems has arisen doing more harm than good. I partly agree with this statement.

To begin with, a large variety of consumer goods have been produced to meet customers’ requirements. With so many diverse products are available, companies are proud of their care for the society. However, contrary to most peoples’ assumption, not all individuals are pleased with the situation. There were complains about the difficulty of choosing suitable products. For example, it is too hard to choose a packet of bread which varies according to brands, ingredients, and types. Also, people have concerned that the diversity of products will result in the waste of resources in terms of both material and labor. In fact, people tend to buy more with fewer options. As a result, sales would decline if the producer focused too much on developing more and more variety of goods. This turns out to be a waste of time and money.

On the other hand, more choices mean more opportunities. Because of hundreds of different requirements, companies are in demand for skillful workers specialized in particular areas. Thus, it can lower the unemployment rate by providing more jobs which benefits the whole society.

In summary, more choices can provide both benefits and harm to the society. From my point of view, even if disadvantages are outstanding, the advantages it might bring shouldn’t be ignored.