Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Although language can be a barrier when we talk with people who speak a different language, we can quickly adapt ourselves to the new environment and communicating and practical problems may not occur. Thus, I disagree with the statement.

On one hand, there are three ways we can express ourselves. Firstly, postures can replace the words in terms of answering simple questions. Shaking heads usually means no in most countries, whereas we can node heads to tell others the meaning of yes. Secondly, practical problems like eating are easy to cope with. Worldwide brands can be easily found in most parts of the world, such as Seven Eleven where various kinds of food are available. Furthermore, nearly every bus station contains a map about the locations and routes. Hence, handling those problems could not be tough as we imagine.

Besides, with more applications on the smartphone, people can quickly and effectively acquire the fundamental grammar and basic words of a new language so that it won't take long before ordinary people learn to speak the local language. For example, I went to Japan last summer vacation. After downloading an application about Japanese, I could talk in several words in Japanese in the restaurant, and the coffee shop. What's more, even if one is not willing to learn, he can also talk with others via the online interpreter which can automatically translate the words.

All in all, a language unfamiliar to us would not trigger severe problems when we can wisely handle those problems.