Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For students majoring in science, some contend that it is a waste of time for them to spend time learning what they don't need in their research. From my perspective, however, history should be a compulsory course that all students have to take in university.

Although some maintain that for students studying biology, chemistry or maths, history such as the World War and the foundation of a country can be useless because without knowing those events students can also make progress in their own study. Nevertheless, I believe history can motivate and encourage students. In history classes, we learn that scientists devoted themselves to creating new medicine and inventing automatic machines during the World War. The spirit can be the most important and history can serve as the motivation for students who struggle to learn other courses. With the inner motivation, no one can manage to achieve big success.

To begin with, history teaches us reasons why conflicts happened between countries and how they handled those problems, which provides us with the right way to address our own problems and avoid wars in the future. Usually, wars resulted from profits and resources. In order to gain more profits, countries started to intrude other countries where resources like petrol were sufficient. But most of the time those conflicts led to two countries wasting money and energy. After that, people have learned to make deals on the precious resources such as coal, gasoline and methane. Only in this way can people share the resources reasonably and in this way both countries can benefit from these fair deals.

Besides, scientific research entails the development of the technology and is based on the former researchers. That is to say, history can give students a brief description of science and nature. For instance, for a freshman in civil engineering school, history including the construction of houses and buildings enables him to obtain the development of structural mechanics. When doing research or publishing paper, it is inevitable to refer to others' theories. The theory of concrete has been developed several times by scientists all over the world. Therefore, to make better research, history is crucial and students of all majors have to learn history to assist them in doing their own projects.

In conclusion, for every major in university, history can offer experience of decreasing wars, teaches students the origin of science, which is incredibly significant for every student no matter what their majors are. Thus every college student should take history courses.