Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include and relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Basically speaking, I partly agree with this statement. Living in a country where I have to speak a foreign language can do cause problem. In daily communication, misunderstandings may be raised because of incorrect expressions and usages of words. Also, understanding the local language is just the first step, as a fluent communication also needs the understanding of local culture, which usually tends to be difficult for non-native residents. In practice, if one cannot speak local language well, it will be quite possible that he fail to get help from other local people, which is another problem.

I still remember how difficult it was in Russia because of my poor language. Last winter I had a two weeks holiday in Russia. On the first day I arrived Moscow, I wanted to buy something from the supermarket but I could not find one. So I asked the people on the street for help. As I could not speak Russian, I used English to ask the passerbys the if there was a supermarket nearby. Unfortunatly, none of them could speak English and they were shaking their heads and telling me that they could not understanding what I was asking about. Helpless and disappointed, I had to walk for half an hour in the cold wind to find a supermarket. The cold wind in that 30 minutes had taught me how difficult it could be when I live in a country where people speak a different language.

Although unfamiliarity of a foreign language can cause problems, I think we don't need to be too negative and worry too much. Actually, problems are not so serious for the reason that both local people's abilities for communication and the methods for getting information are improving. With better education and the change of perspective, people in more an more countries can speak better English and have a higher acceptance for foreigner. Thus, when we go to a new country, we will be likely to get more help from the local people. Additionally, with technology developing, there will be more and more softwares to provide us with adequate information, by which we can make better preparations and reduce the problems we would encounter.

For those reasons above, I believe that, in the future, even though it is always not easy to live in a foreign country, thanks to the development of the whole world, however, there will be less and less social and practical problems and there will be more harmony as well as happiness.